Charizard VMAX — Darkness Ablaze 020/189

Card image via Scrydex. Card art © its publisher; shown for identification.

Pokémon Holo Rare VMAX English
2020

Charizard VMAX

Darkness Ablaze · 020/189

Darkness Ablaze Art: 5ban Graphics The Pokémon Company International
Version1 with data
Gradetap to switch
Market price
$143.50
Median of 5 · $119.12–$152.50
Last sale
$119.12
Sep 25, 2026 · eBay
Record
$152.50
Sep 25, 2026
Population
24,020
PSA · as of Sep 26, 2026
Graded market value
$3.45M
Market price × population
Sales, 12 months
5
Qualifying only
Cite this

Charizard VMAX 020/189 (Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189, PSA 10): $143.50 market price, median of 5 verified sales between Sep 24, 2026 and Sep 25, 2026 (range $119.12–$152.50). Source: CardVolume, cardvolume.com/pokemon/darkness-ablaze/charizard-vmax-020-189/, as of Sep 27, 2026.

Values as of Sep 27, 2026 in USD. Market price = median of at least 5 qualifying sales of this exact version and grade in the last 90 days. Methodology

Key facts

Updated · Only verified or cross-checked sales count · How we verify · Data: Markdown, JSON

Sales history

DateVersionGradePriceVenueStatusSource
Sep 25, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 10 · cert 170586729 $152.50 eBay
auction
Cross-checked Open
Sep 25, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 10 · cert 119284131 $125.00 eBay
auction
Cross-checked Open
Sep 25, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 10 · cert 51693214 $119.12 eBay
best offer
Cross-checked Open
Sep 24, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 10 · cert 82467361 $143.50 eBay
auction
Cross-checked Open
Sep 24, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 10 · cert 50246987 $150.00 eBay
auction
Cross-checked Open
Sep 23, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 9 · cert 134913265 $56.00 eBay
best offer
Cross-checked Open
Sep 22, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 8 · cert 132218873 $49.99 eBay
best offer
Cross-checked Open
Sep 21, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 9 · cert 142078838 $59.99 eBay
fixed
Cross-checked Open
Sep 20, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 9 · cert 50735934 $44.96 eBay
auction
Cross-checked Open
Sep 14, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 9 · cert 166778673 $50.00 eBay
auction
Cross-checked Open
Sep 13, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 9 · cert 97126414 $65.00
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
best offer

PSA sales history lists this as a similar-item sale; buyer premium not stated.
Cross-checked Open
Sep 9, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 8 · cert 151108667 $26.00 eBay
auction
Cross-checked Open
Sep 8, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 10 · cert 53450515 $160.00
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
fixed

PSA cert page sales history; buyer premium not stated.
Excluded Open
Sep 2, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 8 · cert 151708002 $45.00 eBay
best offer
Cross-checked Open
Aug 31, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 8 · cert 169517555 $43.99 eBay
auction
Cross-checked Open
Aug 10, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 8 · cert 104423417 $39.99 eBay
best offer
Cross-checked Open
Jul 31, 2026 Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 8 · cert 157346864 $37.00
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
auction

PSA sales history lists this as a similar-item sale; buyer premium not stated.
Cross-checked Open

Verified: an editor or automated check confirmed the figure on the source page. Cross-checked: an independent second research pass reopened the source and confirmed it. Reported: cited by research but not re-checked; never used in metrics. 1 sale was excluded (reasons on hover). Asking prices are never listed here.

Raw-condition estimates

Raw-condition estimates from Scrydex based on TCGplayer marketplace data, updated Sep 27, 2026. The method is not published, so these are shown separately and never used in CardVolume’s market price, which comes only from documented sales. Raw estimates are not comparable with graded sale prices.

holofoil

Condition / gradeLowMarketHigh30-day
Raw · NM$41.97$43.86—
Raw · LP$37.50$41.17—
Raw · MP$31.12$33.50—
Raw · HP$33.00$29.12—
Raw · DM$19.58$22.92—

playPokemonStamp

Condition / gradeLowMarketHigh30-day
Raw · NM$2,750$1,600—
Raw · LP—$1,000—
Raw · MP—$400.00—

Data: Scrydex. Provider estimates are not sales records.

Price chart

Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 · PSA 10

$101.25$136.03$170.80Sep 24, 2026 · $150.00 · eBaySep 24, 2026 · $143.50 · eBaySep 25, 2026 · $119.12 · eBaySep 25, 2026 · $125.00 · eBaySep 25, 2026 · $152.50 · eBaySep 24, 2026Sep 25, 2026
Each point is one qualifying sale (USD). Points are not an index or a forecast.

Graded population

VersionGraderGradeCountAs ofSource
Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189PSA1024,020Sep 26, 2026Open
Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189PSA97,151Sep 26, 2026Open
Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189PSA81,196Sep 26, 2026Open

Population counts copies graded by one company in one grade. It is not a print run and it grows with every submission. Why population is not print run

Grading math for this card

Prefilled with the latest qualifying sale for each grade where one exists. Replace any value with your own. We never suggest what grade your copy will get.

Break-even chance of a PSA 10
—
Enter a grading cost to calculate.

Formula from Grading: condition, uncertainty, and economics: grading pays only if your honest chance of the high grade exceeds (raw net + cost − other-outcome net) ÷ (high-grade net − other-outcome net). The 13% fee is an editable assumption, not a quoted tariff.

About Charizard VMAX

Charizard VMAX 020/189 is the English Darkness Ablaze VMAX Charizard from the Sword & Shield era. Collectors search for it because it is a modern Charizard chase card with many raw and graded comparables, making exact grade separation important.

Why this card matters

Verified factThe official Darkness Ablaze checklist places Charizard VMAX at card 020 and marks it as a VMAX rarity card. Its demand is tied less to a scarce distribution story and more to the recurring Charizard collector base, the large modern grading pool, and the difference between raw, PSA 9, and PSA 10 results. Because many copies have been graded, the card is useful for showing why population is not print run: PSA population counts only PSA-graded copies, not every copy opened from Darkness Ablaze packs. [1][2]

Identifying the exact version

Verified factUse the set name, number, and finish before comparing prices. This entry is the English Darkness Ablaze Charizard VMAX numbered 020/189. Do not merge it with Charizard V 019/189 from the same set, the Champion's Path rainbow Charizard VMAX, Japanese Darkness Ablaze-era printings, promo VMAX cards, or later Charizard VMAX treatments. A slab label should say 2020 Pokémon Sword & Shield Darkness Ablaze, card 020, FA/Charizard VMAX, with the grade and cert matching PSA's record. [1][2]

What moves the price between versions and grades

AnalysisFor this card, the biggest documented separation in opened sources is grade. Recent PSA data pages showed PSA 10 sales above PSA 9 and PSA 8 sales, while the PSA 10 population was much larger than vintage trophy-type cards. That does not make a raw copy equivalent to a PSA 10: centering, surface, edges, corners, and the cost and uncertainty of grading still matter. Treat fixed-price, auction, and best-offer sales separately when building comps. [2][3][4]

Authenticity checks

AnalysisCompare the card against the official Darkness Ablaze checklist and a known authentic example of the same English printing. Check the collector number, set symbol, VMAX layout, foil and texture behavior, back design, size, edges, and print quality; use several checks together and do not rely on one shortcut. For slabs, match the cert, card name, grade, and visible holder details, but remember copied cert numbers exist and a database lookup alone does not authenticate the physical item. [1][2]

Identity note: Seed variant said Ultra Rare; the official Darkness Ablaze checklist marks card 020 as Charizard VMAX with the VMAX rarity symbol rather than a separate alternate-art variant.
Why collectors look this card up: TCGscreener ranks it #46 most-graded Pokemon card, 33k+ PSA submissions. source 1

What people get wrong about this card

Any Charizard VMAX sale can be used as a comparable.
The evidence supports only exact-card comps; Darkness Ablaze 020/189 should not be merged with Champion's Path, promos, Japanese cards, or another grade.
A high PSA population means that is the print run.
PSA population is a count of PSA-graded copies in that PSA category, not a factory production total or copies in existence.
A raw near-mint copy should price like a PSA 10 because it looks clean.
Condition and grading uncertainty matter; pack-fresh or clean photos do not establish a Gem Mint grade.

Based on the claims our guides decline to adopt: Risk and strategy · Case studies and corrections

Frequently asked questions

How much is a PSA 10 Charizard VMAX 020/189 Darkness Ablaze worth?
Opened PSA evidence showed PSA 10 sales including $160.00 on 2026-09-08 and $128.50 on 2026-09-23, so use a dated range rather than one fixed number. [2]
How many PSA 10 copies exist?
PSA showed 24,020 PSA 10 copies on the opened cert page as accessed on 2026-09-26. [2]
Is this the rainbow Charizard VMAX?
No; this is the Darkness Ablaze standard Charizard VMAX 020/189, not the Champion's Path rainbow version. [1][2]
How do I identify the Darkness Ablaze version?
Look for the English Darkness Ablaze set, collector number 020/189, and VMAX card frame; then match any slab label to that identity. [1][2]
Is PSA population the same as print run?
No; PSA population is only the number graded by PSA in that category as of the observation date. [2]

Sources

  1. Pokémon TCG: Sword & Shield—Darkness Ablaze Card List — The Pokémon Company International (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  2. PSA Cert Verification 53450515 — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  3. PSA Cert Verification 114998748 — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  4. PSA Cert Verification 82955215 — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)

Not yet established

  • Manufacturer print run is not established.
  • Primary eBay listing pages were not opened for each PSA-listed comparable.
  • CGC, BGS, and raw populations were not established.

Research: Codex research pass (live web) · automated source checks · independent cross-check · generated Sep 26, 2026 · reviewed by CardVolume editorial (owner-approved) on Sep 27, 2026 · updated Sep 27, 2026. Found an error? Report it.

More Pokémon