---
title: "Charizard VMAX 020/189 (Darkness Ablaze) price, verified sales and population"
url: https://cardvolume.com/pokemon/darkness-ablaze/charizard-vmax-020-189/
category: Pokémon
updated: 2026-09-27
as_of: 2026-09-27
source: CardVolume (https://cardvolume.com)
---

# Charizard VMAX 020/189 (Darkness Ablaze): price, verified sales and population

> Charizard VMAX 020/189 is the English Darkness Ablaze VMAX Charizard from the Sword & Shield era. Collectors search for it because it is a modern Charizard chase card with many raw and graded comparables, making exact grade separation important.

## Key facts

- CardVolume lists 16 verified sales of the Charizard VMAX 020/189 (Darkness Ablaze) as of September 27, 2026.
- The Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 8 market price is $41.99, the median of 6 verified sales between July 31, 2026 and September 22, 2026.
- The Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 10 market price is $143.50, the median of 5 verified sales between September 24, 2026 and September 25, 2026.
- The Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 9 market price is $56.00, the median of 5 verified sales between September 13, 2026 and September 23, 2026.
- The highest verified sale on record is $152.50 for a Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 PSA 10 on September 25, 2026 at eBay.
- The graded market value of tracked grades (market price × graded population) is $3,897,546.

## Market price by version and grade

Market price = median of at least 5 verified sales in the last 90 days for that exact version, grader and grade. "—" means not enough verified sales.

| Version | Grade | Market price | Sales in window | Last verified sale | Record sale | Population |
|---|---|---:|---:|---|---|---:|
| Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 10 | $143.50 | 5 | $119.12 (2026-09-25) | $152.50 (2026-09-25) | 24,020 |
| Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 9 | $56.00 | 5 | $56.00 (2026-09-23) | $65.00 (2026-09-13) | 7,151 |
| Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 8 | $41.99 | 6 | $49.99 (2026-09-22) | $49.99 (2026-09-22) | 1,196 |

## Verified sales

Each sale was confirmed on the linked page by an automated check or an independent second pass.

| Date | Version | Grade | Price (USD) | Buyer's premium | Venue | Source |
|---|---|---|---:|---|---|---|
| 2026-09-25 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 10 | $152.50 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/53450515/psa) |
| 2026-09-25 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 10 | $125.00 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/53450515/psa) |
| 2026-09-25 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 10 | $119.12 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/53450515/psa) |
| 2026-09-24 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 10 | $143.50 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/53450515/psa) |
| 2026-09-24 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 10 | $150.00 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/53450515/psa) |
| 2026-09-23 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 9 | $56.00 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/114998748/psa) |
| 2026-09-22 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 8 | $49.99 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/82955215/psa) |
| 2026-09-21 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 9 | $59.99 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/114998748/psa) |
| 2026-09-20 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 9 | $44.96 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/114998748/psa) |
| 2026-09-14 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 9 | $50.00 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/114998748/psa) |
| 2026-09-13 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 9 | $65.00 | excluded | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/114998748/psa) |
| 2026-09-09 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 8 | $26.00 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/82955215/psa) |
| 2026-09-02 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 8 | $45.00 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/82955215/psa) |
| 2026-08-31 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 8 | $43.99 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/82955215/psa) |
| 2026-08-10 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 8 | $39.99 | not stated | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/82955215/psa) |
| 2026-07-31 | Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189 | PSA 8 | $37.00 | excluded | eBay | [link](https://www.psacard.com/cert/82955215/psa) |

## How to identify each version

- **Standard Charizard VMAX 020/189**: English Darkness Ablaze set symbol, collector number 020/189, VMAX layout, no 1st Edition stamp, no promo stamp.

**Identity note:** Seed variant said Ultra Rare; the official Darkness Ablaze checklist marks card 020 as Charizard VMAX with the VMAX rarity symbol rather than a separate alternate-art variant.

## Why this card matters

The official Darkness Ablaze checklist places Charizard VMAX at card 020 and marks it as a VMAX rarity card. Its demand is tied less to a scarce distribution story and more to the recurring Charizard collector base, the large modern grading pool, and the difference between raw, PSA 9, and PSA 10 results. Because many copies have been graded, the card is useful for showing why population is not print run: PSA population counts only PSA-graded copies, not every copy opened from Darkness Ablaze packs.

## Identifying the exact version

Use the set name, number, and finish before comparing prices. This entry is the English Darkness Ablaze Charizard VMAX numbered 020/189. Do not merge it with Charizard V 019/189 from the same set, the Champion's Path rainbow Charizard VMAX, Japanese Darkness Ablaze-era printings, promo VMAX cards, or later Charizard VMAX treatments. A slab label should say 2020 Pokémon Sword & Shield Darkness Ablaze, card 020, FA/Charizard VMAX, with the grade and cert matching PSA's record.

## What moves the price between versions and grades

For this card, the biggest documented separation in opened sources is grade. Recent PSA data pages showed PSA 10 sales above PSA 9 and PSA 8 sales, while the PSA 10 population was much larger than vintage trophy-type cards. That does not make a raw copy equivalent to a PSA 10: centering, surface, edges, corners, and the cost and uncertainty of grading still matter. Treat fixed-price, auction, and best-offer sales separately when building comps.

## Authenticity checks

Compare the card against the official Darkness Ablaze checklist and a known authentic example of the same English printing. Check the collector number, set symbol, VMAX layout, foil and texture behavior, back design, size, edges, and print quality; use several checks together and do not rely on one shortcut. For slabs, match the cert, card name, grade, and visible holder details, but remember copied cert numbers exist and a database lookup alone does not authenticate the physical item.

## Common misconceptions

- **Myth:** Any Charizard VMAX sale can be used as a comparable. **What the evidence says:** The evidence supports only exact-card comps; Darkness Ablaze 020/189 should not be merged with Champion's Path, promos, Japanese cards, or another grade.
- **Myth:** A high PSA population means that is the print run. **What the evidence says:** PSA population is a count of PSA-graded copies in that PSA category, not a factory production total or copies in existence.
- **Myth:** A raw near-mint copy should price like a PSA 10 because it looks clean. **What the evidence says:** Condition and grading uncertainty matter; pack-fresh or clean photos do not establish a Gem Mint grade.

## FAQ

### How much is a PSA 10 Charizard VMAX 020/189 Darkness Ablaze worth?

Opened PSA evidence showed PSA 10 sales including $160.00 on 2026-09-08 and $128.50 on 2026-09-23, so use a dated range rather than one fixed number.

### How many PSA 10 copies exist?

PSA showed 24,020 PSA 10 copies on the opened cert page as accessed on 2026-09-26.

### Is this the rainbow Charizard VMAX?

No; this is the Darkness Ablaze standard Charizard VMAX 020/189, not the Champion's Path rainbow version.

### How do I identify the Darkness Ablaze version?

Look for the English Darkness Ablaze set, collector number 020/189, and VMAX card frame; then match any slab label to that identity.

### Is PSA population the same as print run?

No; PSA population is only the number graded by PSA in that category as of the observation date.

## Sources

1. [Pokémon TCG: Sword & Shield—Darkness Ablaze Card List](https://assets.pokemon.com/assets/cms2/pdf/trading-card-game/checklist/swsh3_web_cardlist_en.pdf) (The Pokémon Company International)
2. [PSA Cert Verification 53450515](https://www.psacard.com/cert/53450515/psa) (PSA)
3. [PSA Cert Verification 114998748](https://www.psacard.com/cert/114998748/psa) (PSA)
4. [PSA Cert Verification 82955215](https://www.psacard.com/cert/82955215/psa) (PSA)

## How to cite

> Charizard VMAX 020/189 (Darkness Ablaze). CardVolume, https://cardvolume.com/pokemon/darkness-ablaze/charizard-vmax-020-189/ (accessed 2026-09-27).

Machine-readable: https://cardvolume.com/api/v1/cards/pokemon--darkness-ablaze--charizard-vmax-020-189.json · Method: https://cardvolume.com/methodology/
