Mewtwo — Base Set 10/102

Card image via TCGdex. Pokémon and its card art are © Nintendo, Creatures, GAME FREAK and The Pokémon Company; shown for identification. The image may show a different printing than your copy; identify yours from the edition and set markings.

Pokémon Rare English
1999

Mewtwo

Base Set · 10/102

Base Set Art: Ken Sugimori Wizards of the Coast
Version1 with data
Gradetap to switch
Market price
Insufficient
1 of 5 sales needed in 90 days
Last sale
$66,435
Aug 10, 2026 · Goldin Auctions
Record
$66,435
Aug 10, 2026
Population
82
PSA · as of Sep 26, 2026
Graded market value
—
Needs price + population
Sales, 12 months
4
Qualifying only
Cite this

Mewtwo 10/102 (1st Edition holo, PSA 10): last verified sale $66,435 on Aug 10, 2026 (Goldin Auctions). Not enough verified sales in the last 90 days for a market price. Source: CardVolume, cardvolume.com/pokemon/base-set/mewtwo-10-102/, as of Sep 27, 2026.

Values as of Sep 27, 2026 in USD. Market price = median of at least 5 qualifying sales of this exact version and grade in the last 90 days. Methodology

Sales history

DateVersionGradePriceVenueStatusSource
Aug 10, 2026 1st Edition holo PSA 10 · cert 15858329 $66,435
incl. buyer's premium
Goldin Auctions
auction

PSA sales history lists the Goldin auction result; Goldin auction prices usual…
Cross-checked Open
May 5, 2026 1st Edition holo PSA 10 · cert 15858329 $33,958
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
auction

PSA similar-items sales history; buyer premium not stated.
Cross-checked Open
Apr 5, 2026 1st Edition holo PSA 10 · cert 25041465 $54,064
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
auction

PSA similar-items sales history; buyer premium not stated.
Cross-checked Open
Mar 30, 2026 1st Edition holo PSA 10 · cert 23129158 $66,000
hammer, excl. premium
Fanatics Collect
auction

PSA similar-items sales history links Fanatics lot; buyer premium not stated o…
Cross-checked Open

Verified: an editor or automated check confirmed the figure on the source page. Cross-checked: an independent second research pass reopened the source and confirmed it. Reported: cited by research but not re-checked; never used in metrics. Asking prices are never listed here.

Raw-condition estimates

Raw-condition estimates from Scrydex based on TCGplayer marketplace data, updated Sep 27, 2026. The method is not published, so these are shown separately and never used in CardVolume’s market price, which comes only from documented sales. Raw estimates are not comparable with graded sale prices.

firstEditionShadowlessHolofoil

Condition / gradeLowMarketHigh30-day
Raw · NM—$358.01—
Raw · MP—$449.99—
Raw · HP—$262.01—

unlimitedHolofoil

Condition / gradeLowMarketHigh30-day
Raw · NM$69.99$91.87—
Raw · LP$37.99$41.34—
Raw · MP$25.32$23.67—
Raw · HP$17.50$19.01—
Raw · DM$9.47$9.46—

unlimitedShadowlessHolofoil

Condition / gradeLowMarketHigh30-day
Raw · NM$350.00$295.08—
Raw · LP$138.99$131.34—
Raw · MP$70.00$73.73—
Raw · HP$59.55$58.96—
Raw · DM$53.99$52.51—

Data: Scrydex. Provider estimates are not sales records.

Price chart

1st Edition holo · PSA 10

$28.9K$51.6K$74.4KMar 30, 2026 · $66,000 · Fanatics CollectApr 5, 2026 · $54,064 · eBayMay 5, 2026 · $33,958 · eBayAug 10, 2026 · $66,435 · Goldin AuctionsMar 30, 2026Aug 10, 2026
Each point is one qualifying sale (USD). Points are not an index or a forecast.

Graded population

VersionGraderGradeCountAs ofSource
1st Edition holoPSA1082Sep 26, 2026Open

Population counts copies graded by one company in one grade. It is not a print run and it grows with every submission. Why population is not print run

Grading math for this card

Prefilled with the latest qualifying sale for each grade where one exists. Replace any value with your own. We never suggest what grade your copy will get.

Break-even chance of a PSA 10
—
Enter a grading cost to calculate.

Formula from Grading: condition, uncertainty, and economics: grading pays only if your honest chance of the high grade exceeds (raw net + cost − other-outcome net) ÷ (high-grade net − other-outcome net). The 13% fee is an editable assumption, not a quoted tariff.

About Mewtwo

Mewtwo 10/102 is a holo rare from the English Pokémon Base Set. Collectors search for it because Base Set has multiple visually similar variants, and 1st Edition, Shadowless, and Unlimited copies are not interchangeable.

Why this card matters

Verified factBase Set Mewtwo is one of the original English Pokémon holo rares and is tied to the first Wizards of the Coast era. Its market is highly variant-sensitive: 1st Edition, Shadowless, and Unlimited have different collector pools and sale histories. The opened PSA evidence for a 1st Edition PSA 10 showed high-value auction records, but that evidence should not be transferred to Shadowless or Unlimited copies without separate opened sale pages. [1][2]

Identifying the exact version

AnalysisStart with the front of the card. A 1st Edition copy has the 1st Edition stamp and is also shadowless. A Shadowless non-1st copy has no stamp but lacks the later drop shadow around the artwork window. An Unlimited copy has no 1st Edition stamp and has the later drop shadow. Slabs should be checked for the exact PSA variety label, because a sale for 1999 Pokémon Game #10 Mewtwo-Holo 1st Edition is not a comparable for Unlimited. [2]

What moves the price between versions and grades

Verified factFor Base Set Mewtwo, edition and grade drive the comparison set. The opened PSA page documented PSA 10 1st Edition sales from Goldin, Fanatics, and eBay, while no opened primary Shadowless or Unlimited sale pages were established in this pass. That means the evidence supports reporting the 1st Edition PSA 10 sale records, but not using them to price a raw Unlimited card or a lower-grade Shadowless slab. [2]

Authenticity checks

AnalysisCompare against a known authentic Base Set card and verify the edition marker, shadow or shadowless artwork box, holo pattern, font, copyright line, size, edges, back design, and wear. Use multiple checks and no destructive tests. For slabs, match the certification record to the exact variety and grade, then inspect seller photos of the holder and card. A valid cert number is not enough because copied cert numbers exist. [2]

Telling the versions apart

VersionHow to identify it
1st Edition holoEnglish Base Set Mewtwo holo 10/102 with a 1st Edition stamp at the left side of the artwork box and no drop shadow around the illustration window.
Shadowless holoEnglish Base Set Mewtwo holo 10/102 with no 1st Edition stamp and no drop shadow around the illustration window.
Unlimited holoEnglish Base Set Mewtwo holo 10/102 with no 1st Edition stamp and with the later drop shadow around the illustration window.
Identity note: Seed identity is correct at the broad card level; sales and population must be separated by 1st Edition, Shadowless, and Unlimited.
Why collectors look this card up: TCGscreener ranks it #53 most-graded Pokemon card, 31k+ PSA submissions. source 1

What people get wrong about this card

All Base Set Mewtwo holos are the same card for pricing.
1st Edition, Shadowless, and Unlimited are separate variants and must not be merged.
A 1st Edition PSA 10 sale prices my raw Unlimited copy.
A comp must match edition, grade, language, and condition category; otherwise it is not comparable.
Population 82 means only 82 copies exist.
The 82 figure is PSA's count for PSA 10 1st Edition copies on the opened page, not total surviving copies or print run.
A PSA cert lookup alone proves the slab in a listing is genuine.
Cert lookup is necessary but not sufficient because copied cert numbers exist.

Based on the claims our guides decline to adopt: Risk and strategy · Case studies and corrections

Frequently asked questions

How much is a PSA 10 1st Edition Base Set Mewtwo worth?
Opened PSA evidence showed a PSA 10 1st Edition sale at $66,435.00 through Goldin Auctions on 2026-08-10, plus other 2026 PSA 10 sales listed on the same PSA page. [2]
How many PSA 10 1st Edition Base Set Mewtwo copies exist?
PSA showed 82 PSA 10 1st Edition copies on the opened cert page as accessed on 2026-09-26. [2]
Can I use 1st Edition sales for Shadowless or Unlimited Mewtwo?
No; 1st Edition, Shadowless, and Unlimited are different variants and need separate comparable sales. [2]
How do I tell 1st Edition from Unlimited?
A 1st Edition copy has the 1st Edition stamp and no artwork-window drop shadow, while Unlimited has no stamp and has the later shadowed artwork frame. [2]
What is the current PSA 10 Shadowless value?
Not established in this research pass because no primary opened Shadowless PSA 10 sale page was retained.

Sources

  1. Pokémon Base Set Checklist — A Place for Collectors (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  2. PSA Cert Verification 21350497 — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)

Not yet established

  • Primary opened sale pages for Shadowless and Unlimited variants were not established.
  • PSA populations for Shadowless and Unlimited grades were not established.
  • Manufacturer print run for any Base Set variant was not established.

Research: Codex research pass (live web) · automated source checks · independent cross-check · generated Sep 26, 2026 · reviewed by CardVolume editorial (owner-approved) on Sep 27, 2026 · updated Sep 27, 2026. Found an error? Report it.

More Pokémon