Gyarados — Base Set 6/102

Card image via TCGdex. Pokémon and its card art are © Nintendo, Creatures, GAME FREAK and The Pokémon Company; shown for identification. The image may show a different printing than your copy; identify yours from the edition and set markings.

Pokémon Rare English
1999

Gyarados

Base Set · 6/102

Base Set Art: Mitsuhiro Arita Wizards of the Coast / Nintendo
Version3 with data
Gradetap to switch
Market price
Insufficient
2 of 5 sales needed in 90 days
Last sale
$40,000
Sep 20, 2026 · Fanatics Collect
Record
$40,000
Sep 20, 2026
Population
89
PSA · as of Sep 26, 2026
Graded market value
—
Needs price + population
Sales, 12 months
2
Qualifying only
Cite this

Gyarados 6/102 (1st Edition, PSA 10): last verified sale $40,000 on Sep 20, 2026 (Fanatics Collect). Not enough verified sales in the last 90 days for a market price. Source: CardVolume, cardvolume.com/pokemon/base-set/gyarados-6-102/, as of Sep 27, 2026.

Values as of Sep 27, 2026 in USD. Market price = median of at least 5 qualifying sales of this exact version and grade in the last 90 days. Methodology

Sales history

DateVersionGradePriceVenueStatusSource
Sep 21, 2026 Unlimited PSA 10 · cert 87308469 $2,650
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
fixed

PSA cert page sales of similar items; lot 336571301763.
Reported Open
Sep 20, 2026 1st Edition PSA 10 · cert 17736193 $40,000
hammer, excl. premium
Fanatics Collect
best offer

PSA cert page sales of similar items; buyer premium treatment not stated by PSA.
Cross-checked Open
Sep 15, 2026 1st Edition PSA 6 · cert 119358076 $785.00
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
auction

PSA cert page sales of similar items; lot 287586674909.
Cross-checked Open
Sep 6, 2026 Unlimited PSA 9 · cert 28830219 $250.00
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
fixed

PSA cert page sales of similar items; lot 307120131338.
Reported Open
Sep 1, 2026 1st Edition PSA 9 · cert 22901045 $4,250
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
auction

PSA cert page sales of similar items; lot 800557910046.
Reported Open
Aug 28, 2026 Shadowless PSA 9 · cert 43212683 $700.00
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
best offer

PSA cert page sales of similar items.
Cross-checked Open
Aug 16, 2026 Shadowless PSA 9 · cert 112130938 $799.99
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
fixed

PSA cert page sales of similar items.
Cross-checked Open
Aug 12, 2026 1st Edition PSA 10 · cert 15858313 $23,755
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
auction

PSA cert page sales of similar items; lot 800462506204.
Cross-checked Open

Verified: an editor or automated check confirmed the figure on the source page. Cross-checked: an independent second research pass reopened the source and confirmed it. Reported: cited by research but not re-checked; never used in metrics. Asking prices are never listed here.

Raw-condition estimates

Raw-condition estimates from Scrydex based on TCGplayer marketplace data, updated Sep 27, 2026. The method is not published, so these are shown separately and never used in CardVolume’s market price, which comes only from documented sales. Raw estimates are not comparable with graded sale prices.

firstEditionShadowlessHolofoil

Condition / gradeLowMarketHigh30-day
Raw · NM$4,987$30.01—
Raw · LP$2,380$600.00—
Raw · MP$2,000$566.25—
Raw · HP—$299.99—
Raw · DM—$111.61—

unlimitedHolofoil

Condition / gradeLowMarketHigh30-day
Raw · NM$38.00$45.32—
Raw · LP$20.99$21.58—
Raw · MP$15.25$14.57—
Raw · HP$11.03$11.03—
Raw · DM$6.98$7.29—

unlimitedShadowlessHolofoil

Condition / gradeLowMarketHigh30-day
Raw · NM$999.00$123.52—
Raw · LP$89.95$106.40—
Raw · MP$50.00$46.46—
Raw · HP$43.51$35.62—
Raw · DM$28.52$28.30—

Data: Scrydex. Provider estimates are not sales records.

Price chart

1st Edition · PSA 10

$20.2K$32.5K$44.8KAug 12, 2026 · $23,755 · eBaySep 20, 2026 · $40,000 · Fanatics CollectAug 12, 2026Sep 20, 2026
Each point is one qualifying sale (USD). Points are not an index or a forecast.

Graded population

VersionGraderGradeCountAs ofSource
1st EditionPSA1089Sep 26, 2026Open
1st EditionPSA9503Sep 26, 2026Open
ShadowlessPSA9768Sep 26, 2026Open
UnlimitedPSA10533Sep 26, 2026Open
UnlimitedPSA94,494Sep 26, 2026Open

Population counts copies graded by one company in one grade. It is not a print run and it grows with every submission. Why population is not print run

Grading math for this card

Prefilled with the latest qualifying sale for each grade where one exists. Replace any value with your own. We never suggest what grade your copy will get.

Break-even chance of a PSA 10
—
Enter a grading cost to calculate.

Formula from Grading: condition, uncertainty, and economics: grading pays only if your honest chance of the high grade exceeds (raw net + cost − other-outcome net) ÷ (high-grade net − other-outcome net). The 13% fee is an editable assumption, not a quoted tariff.

About Gyarados

Gyarados 6/102 is one of the original English Base Set holo cards. Collectors search for it because edition differences and condition create very different markets for the same Pokémon and artwork.

Why this card matters

Verified factPSA CardFacts separates Base Set Gyarados-Holo into distinct records and price histories, including 1st Edition and non-1st Edition records. That matters because the same Pokémon, artwork, and card number can represent very different collectible objects. The 1st Edition stamp, the Shadowless frame, and the later Unlimited frame should be treated as separate versions from the start of research, before comparing grades or prices. [1][2][3]

Identifying the exact version

AnalysisFirst check for the 1st Edition stamp. If it is present, the card belongs in the 1st Edition bucket. If it is absent, inspect the frame: Shadowless copies lack the later drop shadow around the art box, while Unlimited copies have the later Base Set look. Keep English Base Set Gyarados 6/102 separate from Base Set 2, Legendary Collection, Evolutions, Japanese Base, and any reprinted treatment. [1][2][3]

What moves the price between versions and grades

AnalysisThe largest price differences come from edition and grade. PSA pages show 1st Edition PSA 10 and PSA 9 sales far above Unlimited PSA 10 and PSA 9 sales, while Shadowless sits in its own middle market. Because vintage holos often show scratching, whitening, print defects, or edge wear, a photo-visible copy should not be assumed to match a slabbed comp unless grade, variant, and cert are aligned. [2][4][5][6][7]

Authenticity checks

Verified factCompare against official references; use multiple checks; no destructive tests; copied cert numbers exist. For Base Set Gyarados, confirm edition stamp, shadow status, copyright line, holo pattern, borders, back color, size, and wear. For slabs, compare the PSA cert record to the label and card, then inspect the holder and images. A correct-looking cert number is not a complete authentication protocol. [8][9]

Telling the versions apart

VersionHow to identify it
1st EditionHas the 1st Edition stamp on the left side of the card image and Base Set holo Gyarados #6/102 identity.
ShadowlessNo 1st Edition stamp, but the card has the early Base Set shadowless frame without the later right-side drop shadow.
UnlimitedNo 1st Edition stamp and uses the later Base Set frame with the right-side drop shadow.
Identity note: Seed variants are correct, but sales and populations must be kept in three separate buckets: 1st Edition, Shadowless, and Unlimited.
Why collectors look this card up: TCGscreener ranks it #79 most-graded Pokemon card, 25k+ PSA submissions. source 1

What people get wrong about this card

All Base Set Gyarados 6/102 copies are the same card for pricing.
The knowledge base requires edition and variant separation; 1st Edition, Shadowless, and Unlimited should never be merged as direct comps.
Population counts prove how many Base Set Gyarados cards exist.
Population counts are only graded-copy counts in a grading database, not a census of raw or sealed copies.
A lower-grade 1st Edition sale can price an Unlimited PSA 10.
The pricing procedure requires matching variant and grade; different variants and grades answer different valuation questions.
A slab cert lookup is enough to authenticate an expensive vintage card.
PSA warns that valid cert numbers can be copied, so physical card and holder inspection still matters.

Based on the claims our guides decline to adopt: Risk and strategy · Case studies and corrections

Frequently asked questions

How do I tell 1st Edition Gyarados from Unlimited?
A 1st Edition copy has the 1st Edition stamp, while Unlimited has no 1st Edition stamp and uses the later Base Set frame. Sources: 2, 3. [2][3]
How much is a PSA 10 1st Edition Gyarados worth?
Recent PSA-reported eBay and marketplace sales for PSA 10 1st Edition included $40,000.00 on 2026-09-20 and $23,755.00 on 2026-08-12, but source venues and terms must be checked individually. Sources: 4. [4]
How much is a PSA 9 1st Edition Gyarados worth?
A PSA cert page reported PSA 9 1st Edition sales including $4,250.00 on 2026-09-01 and $5,520.00 on 2026-08-31. Sources: 5. [5]
How much is a PSA 10 Unlimited Gyarados worth?
A PSA cert page reported Unlimited PSA 10 sales including $2,650.00 on 2026-09-21 and $2,500.00 on 2026-09-20. Sources: 6. [6]
How many PSA 10 1st Edition Gyarados copies exist?
PSA displayed 89 PSA 10 1st Edition copies when accessed for this batch on 2026-09-26. Sources: 4. [4]
How many PSA 10 Unlimited Gyarados copies exist?
PSA displayed 533 PSA 10 copies for the non-1st Edition Gyarados-Holo record when accessed for this batch on 2026-09-26. Sources: 6. [6]
Is Shadowless the same as 1st Edition?
No; Shadowless is a separate early Base Set variant and should not be merged with 1st Edition sales. Sources: 7. [7]

Sources

  1. 1999 Nintendo Pokemon Game Gyarados-Holo | PSA CardFacts — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  2. 1999 Nintendo Pokemon Game Gyarados-Holo (1st Edition) | PSA CardFacts — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  3. 1999 Pokémon Game PSA Price Guide — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  4. PSA Cert Verification 22776529 — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  5. PSA Cert Verification 40840842 — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  6. PSA Cert Verification 87308469 — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  7. PSA Cert Verification 74228759 — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  8. Did I purchase fake or counterfeit cards? — Pokémon Support (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  9. PSA Certification Verification — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)

Not yet established

  • No official manufacturer page for the original 1999 English Base Set release was opened in this batch, so no supply event was recorded.
  • Shadowless PSA 10 sale data were not established from an opened page in this batch.
  • Fanatics Collect buyer-premium treatment was not stated on the PSA sales snippet.

Research: Codex research pass (live web) · automated source checks · independent cross-check · generated Sep 26, 2026 · reviewed by CardVolume editorial (owner-approved) on Sep 27, 2026 · updated Sep 27, 2026. Found an error? Report it.

More Pokémon