Nearly Headless Nick — Harry Potter TCG Base Set 13/116AI illustration

AI-generated 3D illustration (gpt-image-2.5-sunburst). Not a photograph of the card; do not use it to identify a version.

Harry Potter Holo Portrait Premium English
2001

Nearly Headless Nick

Harry Potter TCG Base Set · 13/116

Base Set Art: Cindi Salans Rosenheim Wizards of the Coast
Version1 with data
Gradetap to switch
Market price
Insufficient
1 of 5 sales needed in 90 days
Last sale
$44.95
Jul 21, 2026 · eBay
Record
$44.95
Jul 21, 2026
Population
—
Not sourced
Graded market value
—
Needs price + population
Sales, 12 months
1
Qualifying only
Cite this

Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 (English Holo Portrait Premium, PSA 8): last verified sale $44.95 on Jul 21, 2026 (eBay). Not enough verified sales in the last 90 days for a market price. Source: CardVolume, cardvolume.com/harry-potter/base-set/nearly-headless-nick-13-116/, as of Sep 27, 2026.

Values as of Sep 27, 2026 in USD. Market price = median of at least 5 qualifying sales of this exact version and grade in the last 90 days. Methodology

Key facts

Updated · Only verified or cross-checked sales count · How we verify · Data: Markdown, JSON

Sales history

DateVersionGradePriceVenueStatusSource
Sep 16, 2026 English Holo Portrait Premium Raw · ungraded $19.99
hammer, excl. premium
eBay via PriceCharting
fixed

Reported as a record for this grade
Verified Open
Aug 10, 2026 English Holo Portrait Premium CGC 9 $24.00
incl. buyer's premium
Fanatics Collect
auction

Lot WA238 Lot 18440
Verified Open
Jul 21, 2026 English Holo Portrait Premium PSA 8 · cert 78309599 $44.95
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
fixed

eBay sold page displayed PSA 8 sale; buyer's premium not stated.
Cross-checked Open
Jul 14, 2026 English Holo Portrait Premium Raw · Near mint or better $6.99
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
fixed

eBay sold page displayed price and date; buyer's premium not stated.
Cross-checked Open
May 29, 2026 English Holo Portrait Premium CGC 9 $29.99
hammer, excl. premium
eBay
fixed

Reported as a record for this grade
Reported Open

Verified: an editor or automated check confirmed the figure on the source page. Cross-checked: an independent second research pass reopened the source and confirmed it. Reported: cited by research but not re-checked; never used in metrics. Asking prices are never listed here.

Price chart

English Holo Portrait Premium · PSA 8

Fewer than two qualifying sales for PSA 8; no chart.

Graded population

No sourced population figure yet.

Population counts copies graded by one company in one grade. It is not a print run and it grows with every submission. Why population is not print run

Grading math for this card

Prefilled with the latest qualifying sale for each grade where one exists. Replace any value with your own. We never suggest what grade your copy will get.

Break-even chance of a PSA 10
—
Enter a grading cost to calculate.

Formula from Grading: condition, uncertainty, and economics: grading pays only if your honest chance of the high grade exceeds (raw net + cost − other-outcome net) ÷ (high-grade net − other-outcome net). The 13% fee is an editable assumption, not a quoted tariff.

About Nearly Headless Nick

Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 is an English Holo Portrait Premium character card from the 2001 Wizards of the Coast Harry Potter TCG Base Set. Collectors search for it because it is the base-set premium holo for a recognizable Hogwarts ghost and has recent raw and PSA 8 sold pages available.

Why this card matters

Verified factNearly Headless Nick appears in the premium-card section of the 2001 Base Set checklist as card 13, a Character card with Gryffindor subtype and Holo finish. The checklist credits Cindi Salans Rosenheim as artist. As with the other early WotC Harry Potter premium portraits, the card’s importance is tied to exact identity: character, set, number, language, finish, and condition must all match before a sale is usable. [1][2]

Identifying the exact version

AnalysisThe version modeled here is English Nearly Headless Nick 13/116, Holo Portrait Premium, from the WotC Base Set. Confirm the name, number, English text, and holo-portrait finish. Do not merge it with later Harry Potter products, non-English copies, or listings that put the same character into the wrong set. The seed edition split was not verified from opened references, so the adopted variant is the verified English Holo Portrait Premium version only. [1][2]

What moves the price between versions and grades

Verified factThe opened comps show different buyer categories. A raw near-mint eBay sold page displayed $6.99 on 2026-07-14, while a PSA 8 eBay sold page displayed $44.95 on 2026-07-21. That difference should not be treated as a universal grading premium; it is two observed transactions. Future comps should separate raw condition, PSA grade, other graders, auction versus fixed price, and whether shipping was included. [3][4][6]

Authenticity checks

Verified factCompare against official references; multiple checks; no destructive tests; copied cert numbers exist. For Nearly Headless Nick, inspect card number 13/116, character name, English text, holo-portrait finish, border, back, and print quality. For slabs, match the cert and label to the physical card and seller images. PSA warns that cert verification does not guarantee the web-listed item is genuine, so seller evidence still matters. [5][6]

Identity note: Seed listed 1st Edition holo and Unlimited holo variants, but the opened references verified only the English Holo Portrait Premium printing for this card.
Why collectors look this card up: Base holo portrait premium; PSA Set Registry and checklists identify it in the original premium run. source 1source 2

What people get wrong about this card

A near-mint raw sale proves what every raw copy is worth.
Raw condition terms vary by seller, and one sale is only one comp, not a full market range.
A PSA 8 sale can be used for raw near-mint pricing.
Graded and raw cards are separate categories and should not be merged.
No population number means no graded copies exist.
No adopted population number only means no source-stated as-of population was recorded here.
A copied cert number is impossible if PSA's database loads.
PSA explicitly warns that actual certification numbers can be copied onto counterfeit inserts.

Based on the claims our guides decline to adopt: Risk and strategy · Case studies and corrections

Frequently asked questions

How much is Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 worth raw?
One opened eBay sold page showed a raw near-mint Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 sale at $6.99 on 2026-07-14. [3]
How much is a PSA 8 Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 worth?
One opened eBay sold page showed a PSA 8 Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 sale at $44.95 on 2026-07-21. [4]
Is Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 a holo?
Yes, the opened checklist identifies Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 as a Premium Holo or Holo Portrait Premium card. [1]
Who illustrated Nearly Headless Nick 13/116?
Cindi Salans Rosenheim is credited as the artist in the opened checklist. [1]
How many PSA 10 Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 copies exist?
Not established in this dataset, because no population source with a source-stated as-of date was adopted.
Is 1st Edition Nearly Headless Nick 13/116 verified?
No, this pass did not verify a separate 1st Edition version from opened references. [1][2]

Sources

  1. Harry Potter TCG 1 — The House of Checklists (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  2. Nearly Headless Nick — Harry Potter TCG: Base Set — RetroTCG (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  3. Nearly Headless Nick - Holo 13/116 WOTC Base Set NM — eBay (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  4. 2001 WOTC Harry Potter Base Set - Nearly Headless Nick Holo #13 - PSA NM-MT 8 — eBay (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  5. Cert Verification — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)
  6. PSA Grading Standards — PSA (accessed Sep 26, 2026)

Not yet established

  • No official Wizards of the Coast product page or press release for the Base Set was located in this pass.
  • No population count with a source-stated as-of date was adopted.
  • Separate 1st Edition and Unlimited versions were not verified from opened references.

Research: Codex research pass (live web) · automated source checks · independent cross-check · generated Sep 26, 2026 · reviewed by CardVolume editorial (owner-approved) on Sep 27, 2026 · updated Sep 27, 2026. Found an error? Report it.

More Harry Potter